top of page

LIFESTYLE: Affordable Halloween

hey y'all,

Another day, another guest post. Today on xoxorebeccaf's lifestyle section, Lauren from Becoming Wellthy is taking over and giving her tips on how to have an affordable Halloween. So sit back and grab a glass of wine because you're not going to want to miss these tips.

 

To me, Halloween is the most wonderful time of the year. It’s the kickoff holiday to all my favorite holidays, and it’s smack in the middle of my favorite season. Fun costumes, festive parties, yummy candies. But if you aren’t careful, it can all add up and kick your holiday season off on the wrong foot – in debt. So I have compiled for you some of the great ways to have a fun, festive Halloween, without spending a ton of money.

 

COSTUMES

I have never been shy at admitting I am a fan of Goodwill. I’ve been known to purchase plenty of household items there that have worked great, and even some jackets and sweaters. One thing Goodwill always has an abundance of – costumes. People usually only use their costumes once, and then donate them. So you are getting a practically brand new costume for next to nothing. One thing I would shy away from – wigs. I don’t think I would purchase wigs from Goodwill. Sorry, just my thing! You can check out The Sweet Escape’s post on 5 DIY Thrift Store Costumes for more ideas.

If you have to buy a wig, get it from a great Halloween costume site online. If you join their newsletter, you will receive 20% off on your order. I use their website to purchase all of my accessories for my costumes.

Another alternative for affordable last minute costumes is Dollar Tree. Check out this post on some insanely easy costumes you can make with items from the dollar store.

 

DECORATIONS

photo from http://twitchetts.com/2015/09/diy-decorative-halloween-jars.html/

My favorite thing to do around Halloween is make some DIY decor! I have my forever go to pieces, but I like to sprinkle some crafts in every year. And I always stop at Dollar Tree to pick up on some inexpensive things I can decorate my outside with. It’s a great place to get your spider webs and plastic spiders. Although I have serious arachnophobia and those little plastic jerks still spook me every time. Here is a great list of some DIY crafts to check out!

 

PARTIES

  • Play Party Plan has a great post on 10 Hilarious Games both kids and adults will enjoy!

  • You can stick glow sticks in a cooler of ice for a neat green spooky glow!

  • You have to bob for apples!

  • Living on a Dime shares how they had a great Halloween party for only $25!

 

follow lauren

xoxo,

Rebecca


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page